Chance and Change: The Horizons of Life

A few weeks ago, my husband and I had a “heart to heart” about my career and I told him that though I loved teaching , I felt like I was destined for more.  His reply was, “You bore easily, are very random, creative, and adventurous. You know how to talk to anyone. I think you are meant to be your own boss.”

I mused over that for a few days and thought on how in ways I could see that being true but it was a forced reality that I could not accept though I did ponder for days to come. I became adamant about taking control over aspects of my life and especially my health. A “red” alert from a physical exam demanded that I get fit, change my eating habits, or else. Thanks to a good friend, eloquently named “Q,” I started doing Turbo Fire from the Beach Body (BB) workout program. Keep in mind that I had sworn off BB because of Insanity. That workout was a bit too much for me and I royally hated BB and their numerous infomercials and programs. Boy was I ever so wrong when I began “Turbo Fire” for the first time, I actually enjoyed a workout. I am Day 15 into the workouts and I am in LOVE with Chalene Johnson. To capitalize my new love, I gave in to the craze and became a BB coach and I am looking forward to helping people to get hit and make healthy choices in regards to their health so in an essence I am still a teacher but moreso a fitness instructor. I am looking forward to learning the ropes and because I am actually living the Beach Body dream, I can attest to how it benefits and changes your life. For the first time, I am energetic, motivated, and enthused. I feel I am the happiest in health as I have ever been and I embrace the newness this life will bring. I won’t be successful nor rich in a day but I do believe this is the market for me.

Not only that, in my writers life, I just got illustrations for the “Faith the Flower” series. A lot of changes were made to improve the appeal and target audience and more greatness is on the way. It’s amazing how God can shift focus on your life and make things BETTER. I want to be known as an inspirational author and the age group is so not important. Maybe I left teaching to teach in other ways – through fitness and through reading. Who knows but all I know is there is a big world out there and I am planning on giving life my best and I hope others will do the same.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tiffany
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 15:24:09

    Yay, I’m so happy for you! Wow, get it going Miss fitness instructor! 🙂 I know you will do awesome things and like you said you left teaching, but there are a plethora of other ways you can teach. God Bless!

    Reply

  2. MiMi Atkins
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 15:27:59

    Mississippi is extremely obese and I plan on starting a Fitness Crusade with my remaining time so that I can lose some weight! Operation Bring Sexy Back is here! ❤

    Reply

  3. MiMi Atkins
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 15:28:18

    Thanks, Tiffany. I forgot to say that! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Michita
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 15:31:13

    I’m so happy for you MiMi in some many ways! You’re a true inspiration to me as well as others! Keep God 1st and you will continue to have many blessings overflowing!

    Reply

  5. MiMi Atkins
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 15:43:55

    Thanks, Michita. The other day when all three of you (Angela, Bree, and yourself) posted that back to back for different things, I knew then that I was on the right track. I am made to INSPIRE and I shall do just that.

    I appreciate you and Tiffany wholeheartedly for reading and commenting. You are both AWESOME women.

    Reply

  6. Nicholas Whitbeck
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 16:16:25

    I believe in everything you set out to do honey. I know who you are and what you are capable of doing. I am here and you are the happiest in regards to health. I know you love me but even I had to sit back and watch you find your happiness in other areas. It hurt but you found it and I salute you for that. I can’t wait to return to you.

    Reply

  7. Sara Zyria
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 16:17:29

    I am inspired from reading your words. I love this and I wish you the best. I will support you as a writer.

    Reply

  8. UnBEElievableDreamz
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 16:18:54

    Best wishes with your book. Your blog came up under a google search for writers in the South. So you are recognized as a writer.

    Reply

  9. ValS.
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 16:23:42

    This is on WP top blogs. You make rankings a lot. I can see why. You are write well and with such ease. I like reading your words. Keep it up. I like what you say.

    Reply

  10. Dean
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 17:47:51

    Congratulations on finding such a fantastic new direction in life, MiMi. Having a fun, active job will help you keep a clear mind for writing. I’m looking forward to seeing your new book.

    Reply

  11. MiMi Atkins
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 21:21:46

    Sara, UnbEE, and Val – thanks for stopping by. I appreciate your comments. I don’t have many readers so I have no idea how my blog gets spotlighted, LOL. I get more vistors than anything. Thanks.

    Reply

  12. E-Book Magic
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 09:59:41

    It’s great that you recognize that you feel a greater purpose in life. Many teachers, who are already altruistic, will not readily admit that teaching is not fulfilling to them (at least publicly). As a professor I am well aware of the limitations my profession has on my creativity (as well as it’s perks).

    Continued success in your journey.

    Reply

  13. MiMi Atkins
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 23:34:27

    E-book Magic, I am just seeing your post. Thank you so much for what you say. I am trying my best to stay afloat and just be happy in life. The biggest part of me is writing and I love children. My heart is set on helping younger children and abused kids.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers