Reason. Season. Lifetime.

Even on vacation, I am writing. This is just how much I love engaging in my craft. I have written another book in my children’s faith-based series and I started a new series based on Embry and Amber’s friendship. Ironically, it parallels immensely with my favorite movie, “Beaches.” I realize that Embry’s amazing personality is book worthy and she is one of my biggest muses. Thus, she brings out the writer in mom. The series is going to touch on issues of biracialness (mixed heritage and identity), death, military families, deployments, vacations, and friendship. I am very excited about the literary seeds God has implanted within my being and I pray they stay with me for a lifetime. Which brings me to this observation and revelation about the duration and expiration of the people in our lives.

I have tried to give people the benefit of the doubt of being innately “good” by operating through the eyes of Anne Frank and clinging to her mantra: “Despite everything, I believe that all people are good at heart.” But are they, really? How many times have we found out someone we trust was deceitful, malicious, cruel, or dishonest? Under the layers of jealousy, envy, and intended mayhem, can we really say that people are “good at heart?” Honestly.

This year alone has exposed so many people who “pretend” to be good at heart when in actuality they have no idea who they are themselves. They seek to personally attack others or proceed to meddle in your personal business uninvited. Not all things are meant to be shared with everyone and people should understand that being nosey or prying is rude when it is unsolicited. That’s where PRIVACY factors into the equation. When you get married your mate becomes your best friend and your immediate confidante. That’s the purpose of marriage, right?
It seems that people can not handle nor be happy for others when they get their “come uppance” in this world. When we are spiraling downward in lives how many people assist us during the fall?  Not many, right? So why should we really expect half-hearted people to actually care about the apex in our lives? It seems people would rather hear you fell off the face of the Earth than to join you in basking in happiness and personal achievement.

You’d be surprised at the people who you think are truly in your corner, only to find out that they are secretly against you or doubting you. I had to learn this the hard way. Please know that just because someone smiles in your face does not mean they are obligated to not talk behind your back. Thank God I have the gift of discernment and I feel an inkling of the negative vibes, but I always wait until God reveals the person(s) to me.

Since I have begun this journey to Writersville and am walking down Published Lane (undoubtedly, I am a pinkie toe in) I have had inspiration from a few people I know and I have gotten the greatest encouragement from strangers with whom I meet in passing. I cling to their advice and optimism and I avow to continue the journey and to not give up. I am so blessed to have my husband as my best friend and number one fan. Even though he is miles away, every chance he gets, he tells me what an amazing writer I am and he encourages me to keep the faith. Along the way, God has sent many people my way to remind me to stay in the race.

I thank the wonderful person (who has made me vow to keep her anonymous) for illustrating my faith-based series. She saw my earnestness to write and she asked for the manuscript and began the artwork the same day.

I thank my husband for his unyielding faith and support from afar. Miss Linda Nealy, you are a God send and God knew what he was doing and his timing was ever so perfect. I thank you for getting to know “me.” Michita Brown, I thank you for your tweets, calls, cards, and everything you do to remind me that a best-selling novelist lies within me, I just have to resurrect her. Marcus Devine, thanks for your encouragement. Mahealani Tuitavaki, you keep me boosted and I thank you kindly for always being you. In a nutshell, you are the four people who immediately come to mind after my husband for continually supporting me. Toya Paige, I thank you for reminding me of how good it feels to write. Charity Smith and Donna Martin, my two cousins who I can talk on the phone with for hours on end, I thank you for all you contribute to my life. To my Dad, I thank you for being a listening ear and always encouraging and believing in me! God Bless You All and when that royalty check comes, I will remember you!

Miranda, my new found friend with the gorgeous blonde hair and sparkling eyes, this blog is for you making me see that not everyone is meant to stay in your life always — so don’t attempt to keep them there. In just a moment you inspired me in a million ways and one to surround myself with like-minded individuals and to write. I so love you for that.

If you’re reading this, love, thank, and bless the people who support you and sincerely believe in you and ditch the ones who are mediocre and “pretend” to be happy for you. I have done just that and I am not looking back. I am looking forward to making new friends to replace the “seasonal” ones. This time, I have a criteria and I am smarter and wiser. I am looking for friends who aspire to become better and are working on those goals and dreams in life, as well  as people who believe in cultivating relationships and watching them grow. It’s not that I “think” I am better; I am better and at this point I desire to associate with the “better and best” in life. I want to surround myself with people who are going places not those who are staying in place.

Until next time, I am returning to wedding planning, writing, writing, living, vacationing, and of course, writing.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michita
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 19:49:01

    Awww thanks so very much even I should give you thanks as well! You inspire me in more ways than one! You brought realization to my eyes that no matter how old I am I should always strive to achieve my goals *dream bigger dreams*! You’re a beautiful Woman of God 😉 continue to keep God 1st and live for Him all your dreams will come true and your blessings will continue to pour in and overflow!

    Reply

  2. Ryan
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 19:55:31

    I agree with what you say that when you marry you need to marry your best friend. Many do not know that and I wish you the best with what you are doing. Your blog is always so positive and you deserve to become a published writer.

    Reply

  3. Jennifer Aresene
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 19:58:29

    I recently had to get rid of women who acted as if they were my friend but behind my back they talked about me and my desire to go back to law school since they have good jobs so I can’t do what makes me happy for once. I have always wanted to be a lawyer and many family and friends doubt me but I will use them as my motivation to succeed. With God by my side I will get that juris doctorate.

    Reply

  4. Nicole from MySpace
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 20:01:25

    I found your blog finally. I missed you so much. I love how you write with raw emotion and when you left MySpace blogging I was devastated. You are a beautiful person inside and out and I will always support you and befriend you. You have been too nice and looked past the flaws of others and you bend over backwards for those you consider to be friends. Get rid of the flakes and fakes and bake on those who wish ill towards you, LOL.

    Reply

  5. Ian
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 22:50:04

    I wish you the best with publishing and I look forward to seeing your books.

    Reply

  6. MiMi Atkins
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 22:07:11

    Thank you, Ian. I look forward to becoming published.

    Reply

  7. Nicholas Whitbeck
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 22:29:09

    Sorry I am late posting on this. I love you so much and I want to be in your life for a lifetime. Will you have me? I am here always and you are an awesome writer so it’s time you see that for yourself.

    Reply

  8. Marcus Devine
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 01:27:44

    Your so sweet. Thank you so much. Your blog is very touching and I am so glad that you are a great friend to me. You have help me out when I need help with my writing. Your the best and your books will be on selves and shall be read. Thank you.

    Reply

  9. journeytoepiphany
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 10:18:08

    I am truly excited about this new connection! My YA series is faith-based as well, although I am determined to make it spark hunger in the reader for more a la L’Engle rather than being preachy. I hope that we can converse about our projects regularly…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

