Writers Block

“Blocked”

For years I would stare at my computer screen and desire to write,

Nothing happened but I’d persevere despite.

I’d go to parks and look at the clouds,

I’d jot notes,  journal, hum, and read out loud.

NOTHING.

I enrolled in creative writing in college,

Only to realize being pregnant halted my knowledge.

The professor dropped me from the course,

disregarding  my plea for remorse.

PAUSED.

Like a faded picture or a broken glass,

My dream to be a writer was fading fast.

I refused to attend conferences or workshops,

I was certain I would be a folly and flop.

JADED.

I listened as all my classmates bragged in Writing Theory,

How could I measure up to them? Boy was I weary.

On the day  final papers were due, someone made an A,

Guess who?

ME.

In one moment, I had what I lacked – CONFIDENCE.

I was certain that caused my emptiness.

Class after class, my professors said I would be writer.

Sadly, I felt I could not compare nor conspire.

DOUBT.

Today, I am working on five manuscripts.

I’m happy because my thoughts have finally gripped,

that a writer has always lived within,

it just took MY belief for the journey to begin.

WRITE.

I have struggled with writers block for over three years. A few days ago, I told God that I would obey his call for my life and I will write. Since that day, I have not been able to concentrate on anything but writing. I am excited because amazing things are happening and I can’t keep up with my own thoughts. Someone pass me a net!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Letty
    May 01, 2011 @ 00:54:51

    You were referred to me by Mike whom I consider a great writer. You do have a wonderful talent.

    Reply

    • MiMi Atkins
      May 02, 2011 @ 15:50:03

      Thank you, Letty. How sweet of Mike. I hope I get published soon – the traditional way, that is.

      Reply

    • Davron
      Feb 11, 2013 @ 01:01:58

      A few new cheap accessories have been added. Under new aalvirrs you will find a handful of cheap accessories under $30 that have recently come in that are quite a steal. Select from a variety of stunning feather headbands or silk headbands. Also, recently added are some cute rings under jewelry. Currently added to the new jewelry section are gold filigree rings with roses. These cute rings are quite a hit, so order yours now. Another cheap accessory recently added is the darling la bonita bracelet’. (As seen below). Also, just in under the low cost accessory rangec2a0 are a few cute handbags in some fantastic colors such as orange, turquoise and green. Cute handbags that are under $50 make for great cheap accessories! You can see the entire selection of cute fashion handbags under the $50.00 range. So, now you know where to find cute accessories. Find cheap fashion boutique accessories at Mimi Boutique.

      Reply

    • acmskgtkb
      Feb 12, 2013 @ 23:18:08

      DWZ6wh iwjxsnqxsret

      Reply

  2. Nicholas Whitbeck
    May 01, 2011 @ 02:03:28

    WOW, baby. This is amazing. You never cease to amaze me. You are awesome. As Letty said, you have raw, brilliant, talent.

    Reply

  3. Brenda
    May 02, 2011 @ 13:25:29

    I am glad your muse and you have reconnected. Keep the fingers dancing. Lovely site, and post.

    Brenda
    ( found you via she writes)

    Reply

  4. Deborah
    May 03, 2011 @ 17:19:53

    I like the structure of your poem – very effective. I refuse to believe in writer’s block, because the root of it is wanting to write, passionately, but not quite daring. As you’ve found, you have to find some source of confidence – and dare!

    Reply

    • MiMi Atkins
      May 04, 2011 @ 12:34:19

      Thanks Deborah. It was totally unintentional when I started but it just came out that way. Writers block to me, Deborah is necessary. You can’t write all the time because if you do then you will tire out. When WB occurs one has to step away and turn their attention to other things. For me, during WB I wrote but not like I was used to — instantaneous spurts of poetry and prose – incessantly. During my blocked stage, I wrote a little poetry and no prose. Nothinhttps://mimiatkinsdotcom.wordpress.com/wp-admin/edit-comments.php#comments-formg comes out during WB – it’s like word constipation – you can strain your brain but not much is produced. Also, for my life – WB was God trying to get my attention and tell me to write what he told me and I kept trying not to. As soon as I answered to God, the block was moved – a damn bursted and out gushed all the ideas that I had been trying to bring forth in my brain.

      Reply

  5. Michita Brown
    May 03, 2011 @ 19:13:24

    😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

