Chasing Dreams

WOW! So in less than three months, I will subject my literary genius to the world. Am I ready? Am I excited? Sure, I am – more than anything else in this world. I have been waiting for this moment for a while even though it seems it took forever for me to obey.  A few years ago after much “in your face” time with God, my gift and knack for writing was revealed. It was one of God’s gifts to me.  I promised God I would use my gift to bring youth closer to him. I taught Children’s church and I became a teacher and college instructor but I still had a void. But wait, check this out. I am 6 months shy of being 30 and I have accomplished this so far:

  • Marketing Diploma
  • Associates degree in Education
  • Bachelor’s degree in Education
  • Masters degree in Education
  • ABD (all but dissertation) in International Education (will be Dr. Atkins by 2014)
  • Published 2 poems in anthologies
  • Taught high school English and Drama for 2 years
  • Taught at a college (English 1101 and 1102)
  • Married with a beautiful child and pet Dachshund
  • Completed my first children’s book and working on the series as well as 7 other books
  • Working on the story of my life (though genre is undecided)
  • Moving to Spain, Italy, or Japan in 2012
  • Having the wedding of my dreams in 2012 (I eloped in 2010)

WOW! With and through God, I have accomplished a lot but I still feel like I am destined for more and I will achieve that when I am holding my book in my hand and reading it to children. The illustrator will be finished with the drawings at the end of this month. In the meantime, I am busy working on my marketing and promotion strategy and I have some awesome things lined up to promote my book. I have already met with radio stations and some local bookstores and am looking forward to booking with churches, schools, festivals, book fairs, daycares, museums, zoos, and anywhere I can sale my book. I have a mission to sale 10 books a day so that I can make twice my monthly salary as a teacher. I am COMMITTED to earning $40,000-$60,000/yr through book sales in the next five years. It may seem like a leap of faith or maybe absurd to some but don’t be alarmed. I know the promises God has made to me and since I finally obeyed his call to WRITE, it’s already written that I will be the best. My experience as a teacher and motivational speaker equips me with much confidence as I embark on the this literary and entrepreneurial journey. That’s what being an author is in today’s society – you are in business to sale your book. Besides, I must have “FAITH” as that’s what my first book is all  about:

Title: Adventures in Rainbow Valley: Faith the Flower

Sample Cover

Age Group: 4-8

Genre: Children’s Inspirational/Spiritual

Pages: 32

Interior: Watercolor Illustrations

Themes: Friendship, Patience, and Self-acceptance

Why I wrote the Book: As a child, my daughter would often ask me to tell her stories, so I made up a story about Faith, the flower, and her many adventures through LiLac Valley (a fictitious wonderland). Sadly, my daughter has outgrown the Faith stories and can read on her own and even make up stories to tell me but I did not want to let Faith go, so I decided to share her stories with the world.

States to Tour: Louisiana, Mississippi, Florida,  Alabama, and Georgia (Tentative)

Book Launch: Late Summer 2011 (Tentative)

I once told someone that I don’t just DREAM, that I “chase dreams.” It’s true. I’m an overachiever and this writing journey has just begun. My brain is in OVERDRIVE with all the book ideas that float around in it. I have started over SEVEN books in the past three weeks. My mother-in-law is illustrating a series based on the character of my dog, Emerson and I started a series about my daughter since she inspires me so much with her wit and energy. I am glad I answered the call on my life to “write” and I look forward to sharing my gift with the world and inspiring others one book at a time.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. afroblush
    May 12, 2011 @ 08:20:01

    I look forward to this…hope I can get it in the UK?

    Reply

    • MiMi Atkins
      May 12, 2011 @ 13:11:55

      I think so. It will be available on Amazon.com, Barnes and Noble.com. If you can’t get it then I will mail it to you (signed of course). Thanks for reading.

      Reply

  2. aig63
    May 12, 2011 @ 08:41:07

    A dream you are chasing is about to be upheld to the world – congratulations. Can’t remember who said it but went something like, “if you don’t know where you’re going, you might end up somewhere else”. Your strategic efforts are bound to pay off. I wish you every success!

    Reply

    • MiMi Atkins
      May 12, 2011 @ 13:10:34

      Aig, I have had plenty dreams deferred but I am on the route to pursuing this dream of helping children. I even have puppets to go along with my readings. I am making teacher tools as well. It’s a work in progress but I will get through this. Thank you for reading.

      Reply

  3. 2blu2btru
    May 12, 2011 @ 10:49:16

    Congratulations on all of the wonderful writing things happening in your life! I am still in the trenches working on my first offerings, but it’s inspiring to see someone else at the point of launching their dream into the world. Keep up the good work and the pace! Many future blessings,

    2blu2btru

    Reply

  4. Michita Brown
    May 12, 2011 @ 16:51:44

    I’m so happy for you that all your dreams are falling into place 😉 I can’t wait to see the rest of your blessings to fall into place as well.

    Reply

  5. MiMi Atkins
    May 13, 2011 @ 08:02:03

    Thanks, Michita! I am EXCITED for what God has in store for me.

    Reply

  6. Elizabeth Young
    May 13, 2011 @ 22:48:13

    I am proud of you Mimi, you have accomplished an incredible amount before 30! Excellent children’s books are in short supply, and they are read countless times in most cases. We read our four children the ‘Arch’ books when they were growing up and also an excellent secular series about different characteristics. Books shape the next generation. Well done!

    Reply

  7. Mrs. Barbara J. Fields
    May 16, 2011 @ 19:02:48

    Congradulation, may success continue to flourish in your life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 71 other followers

