Sabbatical

Hey Blog Readers,

I will be away on vacation for a few weeks. I need this time away to regroup and to prepare for the newness God has for my life. Like these beautiful things:

  • I got a PUBLISHER for my children’s series.  The contract arrived today, but I do not think I am going to sign with them because of the vision God has given me for “The Adventures in Rainbow Valley” series. I am not in agreeance with the contract proposal nor its terms.
  • After month’s of  rejection (earlier this week  and before my contract offer), I made the decision to create my own publishing company whose market aims are for: women authors, children’s authors, Christian authors, and writers of multiculturalism. I was in process of  creating this vision when I got the call from the publisher who approved my manuscript. I am not one to jump into matters without praying so I know God’s call on my life and this is the way I want to go, so I am DECLINING THE CONTRACT. Many will say I am crazy but my heart is not with the publisher.
  • I AM IN THE RESEARCH PHASE OF MY DOCTORAL DEGREE!  That means I am 4 classes away from THE DISSERTATION PHASE!
  • Every Christian needs a sabbatical from the world to reevaluate her walk with Christ and to make sure she is on the path of seeking God’s face and being obedient to his WILL. I desire to seek God’s will and not my own.
  • I need a break; I have been busy nonstop for the past 5 months and I am physically, mentally, and emotionally exhausted. I am SPIRITUALLY awakened and enlightened though.

I am planning on taking a break from everything, including my obsession with the internet. Instead, I will read the  7 books I bought in the past weeks and do what I call “mental journal.” Until then, be blessed and for those who know the words of prayer, please pray my strength in the Lord as I am on the beautiful beaches of  Destin, Pensacola and Ft. Walton, Florida, exploring Sea World in Orlando, getting lost at Little Five Points in Atlanta, GA, shopping in Atlanta and  Tallahasee, Florida, basking in the rich culture of New Orleans, and reliving the Southern experience in Alabama and Mississippi. All of this while prepping my daughter for the upcoming school year (I believe the FIRST education) starts at home.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thiskidreviews
    May 21, 2011 @ 19:45:49

    Good Luck!

    Reply

  2. 2blu2btru
    May 22, 2011 @ 07:09:17

    Yay for your sabbatical. I am in need of one myself. It’s so good to step back for a while, come back to things with fresh eyes and renewed zeal for them. Praying that you get what you need from this. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Brynne
    May 23, 2011 @ 15:58:47

    Sooo proud of you in all your big decisions, Mimi! I love to meet people with illuminated paths…like YOU! Its not a question of if you will fly but how high you will SOAR! Hooooray!!!

    Reply

  4. MiMi Atkins
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 01:53:32

    Thanks, Brynne!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

