Gone Too Long: Hiatus

Wow! I can’t believe it’s been over four months since I last wrote on my website. I feel like I neglected my passion, but as with all writers, we endure the curable, yet tedious blockage of our words. Days and weeks, I would stare lethargically at the computer screen, beckoning for some words to come out but — NOTHING. As I type this, I am surprised that words are appearing. There, that’s something, right? I am led to believe that writers get their biggest guffaw moments of drought when they have too much going on in their lives. I don’t know what I did these past few months but I feel I lost a little bit of myself, but I found portions of myself as well. Life’s weird that way.

But an update on my book – I am torn between making it a series or actually just doing one book and going on to my next children’s book.  I eventually want to write fiction,too but that requires writing.  Friendi S. Montes has finished most of the illustrations and I have since handed it over to the awesome Steven Novak to let him do his magic with that he has. Maybe we will be ready by Christmas or the beginning of the year. What a way to start the year, as a breaking new AUTHOR.  Ahhh, that sounds chilling, yet thrilling!!!

But when will I find time to commit to my passion? Since I am teaching again, my time is divided into being a devoted mother, military wife, daughter, sister, aunt, and teacher while running from  PTA, football games, Girl Scouts meetings and piano lessons. I won’t complain but I will do better in all aspects of my life. There, there’s nothing wrong with wanting to become better and each day provides a new start. So, commit to “better.” Tonight, I am.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicholas Dean Whitbeck
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 20:41:11

    I am very glad that you can find the words again to write, honey! You are a great author and my favorite Teacher! Thanks for all that you have given me! I cannot wait to see your masterpieces!

    Reply

  2. MiMi Atkins
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 21:24:42

    Thanks for your support, Nick! Thank you! Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

